Oven “Fried” Green Tomatoes

How pretty and green are these babies!?

Yep, I’m a GRITS – Girl Raised in the South.  I love fried green tomatoes, but some unknown reason, I cannot fry anything and have it turn out properly.  Which is a really good thing for my hips, arteries, heart, and wedding dress.

So, my alternative is to try to oven fry.  And here’s the recipe I used, with my modifications are out to the side.

  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon ground flax seeds (Flaxseed meal)
  • 1/2 cup cornmeal
  • 1/4 cup quinoa flour (or other flour) (Whole wheat flour)
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch (or other starch)
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper freshly ground
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (sea salt)
  • 4 large green tomatoes

Preheat oven to 425. Spray a baking sheet lightly with canola oil or non-stick spray.

Combine the water and ground flax seeds in a blender and blend at high speed for 30 seconds. Pour into a wide bowl and allow to sit for a few minutes to thicken slightly.

Golden flaxseed meal and water “dredging” concotion.

In another wide bowl, combine remaining ingredients (except tomatoes). Cut tomatoes into slices about 1/4 to 1/2-inch thick. Submerge a tomato slice in the flax-water, allow excess to drip off, and place slice into cornmeal mixture.  Press lightly to assure that bottom of slice is covered with cornmeal and turn to coat other side. (I actually re-dipped for extra breading… it’s my favorite.) Place on prepared baking sheet.

When all tomato slices are coated, bake for 15 minutes, or until bottoms are golden brown. Turn and bake another 15 minutes to brown other side. Remove from oven and serve immediately.

This recipe is from http://blog.fatfreevegan.com/2009/08/oven-fried-green-tomatoes.html (I’m not vegan, and most likely never will be, but she has got some AWESOME recipes!)

These turned out WAY better than I expected!

I ended up eating one with pimento cheese on my hamburger that night.  Absolutely delicious! How do you eat your “fried green tomatoes?”

Leave a Reply

